Xenon
Xenon

Bachelor of Education,

Bachelor of Arts (Hons),

Bachelor of Education,

Bachelor of Arts (Hons),

About Me

Qualified teacher with 8+ years experience
Head of English at an independent school in North London
English tutoring; year 5 - GCSE
Maths tutoring; year 5 -7
SEN experience including autism, Asperger's Syndrome, ADHD, ADD, sensory processing disorder

Tutor Specialisms and Experience
  • Primary
  • KS1/KS2 Teacher
  • Maths
  • English
  • Spelling and reading
  • Social emotional and/ or behaviour challenges
  • Autism
  • ADD/ ADHD
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • 11+
  • Entrance examinations
  • GCSEs
Experience, training and skills

I am a currently Head of English at an independent school in North London. I originally trained as a teacher in South Africa where I received my BEd from the University of the Witwatersrand. After finishing my undergraduate degree, I completed a post-graduate degree in English Literature (BA Honours). From university, I taught at Germiston High School – a secondary school where the majority of the children came from urban township homes.

As the Head of English I have ensured that lessons in all year groups cover the objectives outlined in the National Curriculum. It is my responsibility to not only develop the curriculum but to also give teachers the support they require in producing the best learning experience for their learners. I have assisted new teachers in setting up literacy systems in their classrooms and conducted intervention groups for a broad spectrum of learning needs, including booster groups and groups for Able and Ambitious children. I have prepared lessons for a range of needs, including children who are visually impaired and on the ASD spectrum – and all of the resources required for them to access the lessons that were being taught. This has given me a broad scope of exposure to various learning needs.

I am currently teaching my seventh class in London and specialise in preparing the children for their various exams. I have expanded my exam preparation repertoire to include the 11+ examinations and have garnered a good understanding of the requirements set by London’s most selective schools. I provide private English tutoring sessions for students from Year 5 to GCSE, and private Maths tutoring sessions from Year 5 to Year 7.

– Able to conduct classes in a disciplined environment where students are challenged.

–  Differentiation for learners of various abilities.

– Able to provide high quality learning experiences for students.

–  Friendly personality and excellent communication skills.

–  Excellent classroom management skills.

–  Ensuring that all learners make expected or above progress.

 

My Teaching Philosophy

I take my responsibilities as a teacher incredibly seriously and have a true passion for education and nurture a natural love for learning. I am a passionate and enthusiastic teaching professional with an unfaltering belief in the transformative power of education. I am an adaptable, reliable and efficient individual who can fit into many environments.

I believe that children learn through experience and generally need someone to guide them in their understanding. Each child has a unique way of learning and, as a teacher, it is my job to identify and cater to that as best possible. All children have different intelligences, but it is vital that they have the foundation needed to access the world to the best of their ability. Not all children can be held to the same standard and I strive to move 'the bar' so that all children can be proud of the progress they have made and the individual goals that they have met.

I have strong organisational skills, but can also keep a level-head when plans run awry.  I have good people skills, and others often find me approachable.

I have a natural aptitude for developing mutually rewarding and responsive relationships with colleagues, parents and students alike. I have an excellent rapport with children, which has been noted upon by colleagues and observers.

Choose me if…

You are looking for some who easily relates to children of all ages and who encourages them to achieve through positive reinforcement (and a little bit of humour).

Something sensational about me

I was born and raised in South Africa where I studied. Whilst there, I was a rowing coach and still love any water sport!

In my spare time, I love to read; go bird watching and attend the theatre. I also love watching the football and try to get to as many Manchester City games as possible.

I recently went to Uganda and partook in a teacher training programme in Masindi: we provided professional development training to head teachers in village schools. It was amazing!

 

Location

Xenon

37 Wakeman Road, London, UK

Availability
  • Saturday

    11:00 - 15:00

Education
  • 2010
    University of the Wiwatersrand
    Bachelor of Education
  • 2011
    University of the Witwatersrand
    Bachelor of Arts (Hons)
Contact us to book this tutor