SarahH
SarahH
About Me

Qualified teacher with 15+ years experience
HNC Special Learning Needs
Specialism in working with children with confidence and self-esteem issues

Tutor Specialisms and Experience
  • Early Years
  • Primary
  • EYFS Teacher
  • KS1/KS2 Teacher
  • Academic challenges – primary general
  • Phonics and reading
  • Speech and communication challenges
  • Behaviour and/or social and/or emotional challenges
  • Memory and processing challenges
  • Fine and/ or gross motor skills
  • Focus and attention
  • Confidence and self-esteem
  • Autism
  • ADD/ ADHD
  • Global Developmental Delay
  • SEN other
Experience, training and skills

I have been a Qualified Primary Teacher for 15 years. I have a degree in Childhood Studies and started my career as a Classroom Teacher. Since then, I have worked across different age ranges and have had 8 years experience as an Outreach Teacher. I have worked with pupils who have a range of needs, including children and young adults with Down’s Syndrome and those on Autistic Spectrum. I have a real passion for working with children and young adults have a particular strength in working with pupils who have confidence and self-esteem issues. I am a good listener and really care about the well-being of pupils I support.

 

I also teach social-skills and help children to develop strategies to overcome challenges with their peers or adults. I can integrate friendship-building strategies into my sessions, alongside any learning or behaviour support. I have used PECS with non -verbal autistic children during my training and for my dissertation.  There were improvements in the pupils communication over the course of the programme. I am used to working in collaboration with external professionals and am a good team player . I have lots of experience in working with children who have additional needs and have lots of patience.

Relevant qualifications:

– HNC Special Learning Needs

– QTS Teaching qualification

– Certificate in accredited course- ‘Understanding and Teaching Children with Emotional and Behavioural Issues’

– 15 years experience as a teacher

– 8 years experience working with pupils 1:1 /small groups who require additional support

My Teaching Philosophy

Children learn best when they feel comfortable and secure. I firmly believe that forming positive relationships with the pupils I work with is key to them feeling comfortable and being open to learning.

In my spare time I enjoy cooking, playing the piano and going out to lots of different places.  This includes the cinema, bowling and to restaurants.  I would use some similar activities as part of the support to be provided. I enjoy travelling on the train to London.  I am also passionate about helping people to learn new skills, develop confidence to try out a wide range of activities and also to become independent.

Choose me if…

you want someone fun, kind, honest and reliable who will work hard to ensure that your child succeeds, develops in confidence and has positive learning experiences.

Something sensational about me

I am very friendly and approachable.  I have lots of experience of teaching and helping pupils to become their very best.  I also love singing and playing the piano.  I am very flexible and can work around times to suit pupils and their families. I am also available for some work over the holiday period.

Location

SarahH

36 Norfolk Gardens, Borehamwood, UK

Contact us to book this tutor