Mansha
Mansha
About Me

Higher-level teaching assistant
15+ years experience

Tutor Specialisms and Experience
  • Maths
  • English
  • Spelling and reading
  • Dyslexia
Experience, training and skills

I started working in education 15 years ago, helping students with Spanish and French and the EAL 6th formers with their Business assignments. In my next secondary school, I completed the HLTA course and got promoted to co-ordinate and deliver the Reading Recovery program which I did for 7 years and the Lit Program for 2 years.  I also got a broad experience of working with EAL, dyslexia and SpLN, being part of the assessing and intervention team in Learning Support.  Thus, I gained extensive understanding of early reading strategies, phonics and comprehension.

I was fortunate to assist in English and MFL classes from Yr7-11.  I worked with lower ability GCSE (English, Spanish and French) students, supporting them in completing classwork, homework and coursework.  

In 2015, when I moved to Hong Kong, I was thrilled to be offered the role of IN EA at a primary school where I worked for 2 and a half years with students from Yr3-6.  I lead springboard maths, reading,comprehension, handwriting and spelling interventions.  I continued with my CPD and completed the ELSA training and started delivering emotional literacy sessions to identified students.  

Before starting my career in education, I was a freelance interpreter and translator in Spanish and English.  I was asked by my agency to develop and teach a basic Spanish course to teach to several professional adults which I did.  

Building positive and encouraging relationships with the students allows me to bring out the best in their teaching and learning whilst simultaneously developing their confidence and self esteem.  I have a child centred approach which allows me to adapt to both educational and emotional needs of the children I care for.  I am patient and understanding and have an ongoing interest in helping my pupils to progress and achieve keeping in mind that every child has potential.

I have tutored my son with the 11+ entry exams which resulted in a successful outcome!

My Teaching Philosophy

I take the child’s perspective, listen to and work with them through the task. I encourage my students to have an open mindset; they may not know or understand something ‘yet’. When we support them in building their resilience and self belief, they can achieve.

Something sensational about me

I am vegetarian and believe in looking after the body and mind holistically as much as possible.  I practice meditation and love chocolate!

Location

Mansha

St John's Wood, London, UK

Availability
  • Monday

    2.30pm-5.30pm

  • Tuesday

    2.30pm-5.30pm

  • Friday

    2.30pm-5.30pm

Contact us to book this tutor