KristyE
KristyE

Bachelor of Education,

Bachelor of Education,

About Me

Qualified teacher with QTS
English and Maths, primary teacher
14 years teaching experience
Extensive and specialised special needs experience

Tutor Specialisms and Experience
  • KS1/KS2 Teacher
  • KS3/KS4 Teacher
  • Academic challenges – primary general
  • Maths
  • English
  • Spelling and reading
  • Speech and communication
  • Social emotional and/ or behaviour challenges
  • Memory and processing challenges
  • Fine and/ or gross motor skills
  • Focus and attention
  • Confidence and self-esteem
  • ADD/ ADHD
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Global Developmental Delay
Experience, training and skills

I hold a Bachelor of Education and am currently undertaking a Master’s Degree in Literacy Development and Literacy Difficulties at UCL. I have 14 years of teaching experience and have taught in mainstream and SEN schools. I have experience with writing bespoke, holistic learner specific curriculums.

My Teaching Philosophy

My sessions always start with the learner and his/her strengths in order to build confidence and self-esteem. I discuss goals with the learner and parents, assess to check for any missing gaps and then carefully plan and design activities that build upon knowledge.

I employ a range of teaching strategies including multi-sensory learning and practical based sessions to allow children to really understand what they are learning and why, and the relationships between new facts and previous learning. Concepts that are deemed ‘too difficult’ at school are broken down into small manageable steps in order for students to gain a sense of achievement.

I encourage children to generate their own information, organise that information, make sense of what they have collected, and communicate their understanding (for example by making a rule or telling me a pattern). This fosters independence, retention and is the most powerful way for children to learn things for themselves.

I review progress with children and parents and give advice on practical strategies in order to support learners in the home.

Choose me if…

… you would like a tutor who supports children both in their academic and behavioural development.

… you would like a tutor who will truly utilise your child’s interests to inspire a love of learning.

… you would like a highly experienced, patient and intuitive teacher that can understand where the difficulties lie and the steps needed to address them.

… you would like a tutor who forms a positive relationship with your child, engages your child in their learning and delivers results.

 

Something sensational about me

I have worked alongside some outstanding occupational therapists and physiotherapists and have learnt a great deal from them such as fine and gross motor development, sensory diet activities, handwriting, organisational skill development and movement breaks to help with attention.

I am a very active person and utilise this in my sessions. I have studied aerial circus (but never performed) and now am attending pottery lessons.

Location

KristyE

Castlewood Road, London N16 6DW, UK

Availability
  • Monday

    8:00am- 4:00pm; 7:00pm- 8:00pm

  • Tuesday

    8:00am- 4:30pm

  • Wednesday

    8:00am - 8:00pm

  • Thursday

    8:00am- 4:30pm

  • Friday

    8:00am - 8:00pm

  • Saturday

    11:00am- 8:00pm

  • Sunday

    12:30pm- 8:00pm

Education
  • 2003
    RMIT University
    Bachelor of Education
Contact us to book this tutor