JillL
JillL
About Me

Qualified teacher
9 years experience
Phonics and early reading expert

Tutor Specialisms and Experience
  • KS1/KS2 Teacher
  • Academic challenges – primary general
  • Maths
  • English
Experience, training and skills

I am a qualified teacher with nine years’ experience as a full time KS1 Class teacher and five years’ experience as a Primary School Learning Support assistant. After a break from full time teaching. I have been volunteering as a reading helper in a local school, working for a national charity called Beanstalk. This year I was working with three Year 4 children who for different reasons were struggling with reading. This Spring I tutored a Year 6 child to help build confidence before the KS2 SATs. As a class teacher I devised, delivered and oversaw many personalised support plans for children with many different needs.

As a parent of two (now adult) children I have first hand experience of the difficulties experienced in school. My son has   dyspraxia and has co ordination and spatial awareness problems which made writing and the busy school environment very challenging for him. My daughter has quite severe OCD and social communication difficulties which have needed a lot of sensitive support.

 

My Teaching Philosophy

My teaching philosophy is not set in stone but is constantly evolving with experience. The children I work with teach me a lot.
I qualified as a teacher in my late forties after several years of classroom experience as a learning support assistant. As a parent of two children who had both needed extra support at school I became very aware of the importance of building a good relationship between school and home.
When teaching, I always strove to make my classroom a secure, welcoming place where every child would feel valued. Each child brings their unique skills and weaknesses and their personal experience of the world outside school. As a teacher of a whole class or as a tutor, my role is to nurture, support and help to build confidence.

Choose me if…

you would like your child to gain confidence in what he/she can do and be willing to have a go even if he/she feels apprehensive about it.

Something sensational about me

I love travelling to see and listen to live music around the UK. When I am out and about I am never without a notebook and sketchpad so that I can observe and jot down thoughts or things I see and hear. I am also learning to tap dance again after a 50-year break.

I chose to become a teacher after realising the difference one to one support had made to my son in KS1 and I have always been very aware of this in my teaching practice.

Location

JillL

Muswell Hill, London, UK

Availability
  • Monday

    15:00-19:00

  • Tuesday

    14:00-19:00

  • Wednesday

    15:00-18:00

  • Thursday

    16:00-19:00

  • Friday

    16:00-19:00

  • Saturday

    All day

  • Sunday

    All day

Contact us to book this tutor